Your Cart

The Joan Leiman Jacobson Poetry Prizes

For over 60 years 92Y’s Discovery Contest has launched the careers of major poets like John Ashbery, Lucille Clifton, Mark Strand, Mary Jo Bang and Solmaz Sharif, to name but a few. Will you be next?

Four winners receive a reading at 92Y, publication in Boston Review, a two-night residency at the ACE Hotel and $500 each.

Read selections by last year's winners.

Applications must be submitted by Friday, January 12, 2018, at 5 pm.

To apply, read the guidelines and submit here.

This contest is endowed by Joan L. and Dr. Julius H. Jacobson, II.

Preliminary Judges

Timothy Donnelly

Timothy Donnelly is the poetry editor at Boston Review and author of Twenty-Seven Props for a Production of Eine Lebenszeit and The Cloud Corporation, for which he won the Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award.

A. H. Jerriod Avant

A. H. Jerriod Avant served as Writer in the Public Schools Fellow at New York University.

Final Judges

Craig Santos Perez

Craig Santos Perez is the author of from unincorporated territory [guma’], from unincorporated territory [hacha] and from unincorporated territory [saina], the latter of which was a finalist for the LA Times 2010 Book Prize for Poetry and the winner of the 2011 PEN Center USA Literary Award for Poetry.

Srikanth Reddy

Srikanth Reddy is the author of Facts for Visitors and Voyager, named one of the best books of poetry by The New Yorker, NPR and The Believer.

Dara Wier

Dara Wier is the author of numerous collections of poetry, including In the Still of the Night, You Good Thing and Selected Poems.