About the Instructors

Katherine Mosby's novels include Private Altars, a Book of the Month Club award winner for First Fiction; The Season of Lillian Dawes, a New York Times Notable Book; and Twilight.

Stephen Wright's novels include M31: A Family Romance, Meditations in Green and The Amalgamation Polka.

Among Pulitzer Prize-winner Franz Wright's 15 books of poems are The Beforelife, Walking to Martha's Vineyard and God's Silence. Denis Johnson said, "At any one time only a handful of geniune poets reside on the planet. I consider Franz Wright to be one of these."

Rachel Wetzsteon's collections of poetry are The Other Stars, which was selected for the National Poetry Series, Home and Away, and Sakura Park. She won an Ingram Merrill grant and the Witter Bynner Poetry Prize. Wetzsteon also teaches at William Paterson University.

Molly McQuade is a poet, critic, anthologist and editor who has taught at Johns Hopkins University, the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and elsewhere. Her writing has appeared in Poetry magazine, The New Criterion, TriQuarterly and the Harvard Review. She is working on a writer's dictionary.

Joyce Johnson's Minor Characters received the National Book Critics Circle Award. Her other books include In the Night Café and Missing Men. A former book editor, she has taught in the MFA programs at Columbia University and, most recently, the New School.

Daphne Merkin's work appears regularly in such publications as The New York Times Book Review and The New York Times Magazine. She is the author of the novel Enchantment and the essay collection Dreaming of Hitler.

Han Ong was the youngest playwright to be awarded the MacArthur Fellowship. His plays include Watcher, The L.A. Plays and Swoony Planet. He is also the author of the novels Fixer Chaos and The Disinherited.

Glyn Maxwell's books of poems include The Breakage, The Boys of Twilight, Time's Fool, The Nerve and The Sugar Mile. A winner of the E.M. Foster Prize, he has taught at Amherst College and New York University.

Poet Marie Ponsot is the author of several collections of poetry, including The Bird Catcher, winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award, and Springing: New and Selected Poems, a "notable book of the year" by The New York Times Book Review. Ponsot has taught at many graduate programs including the Poetry Center, NYU and Columbia University.

Issue 3

More in this issue


Connect With Us

Join eNews

Contact Us

Follow Us



Poetry Center Online

On Demand Literary Recordings