About the Instructors

Stephen Wright's novels include M31: A Family Romance, Going Native, Meditations in Green and The Amalgamation Polka.

Fiona Maazel's novel is Last Last Chance. She is a National Book Foundation "5 under 35" honoree and winner of the Bard Prize for 2009. Her work has appeared in BOMB, Salon, Tin House, The New York Times and The Yale Review.

Molly Peacock is the author of six volumes of poetry, including The Second Blush and Cornucopia: New & Selected Poems. She is working on a biography of the 18th-century flower artist Mary Delany and a book-length poem, Alphabetica: The Stories of the Letters. She is on the faculty of the Spalding University Brief Residency MFA Program.

Marie Ponsot's books include The Bird Catcher, Springing: New and Selected Poems and Easy. Recipient of the National Book Critics Circle Award and the Frost Medal, she teaches at the New School and Queens College.

Jeanne Marie Beaumont is the author of Placebo Effects, Curious Conduct and Burning of the Three Fires. She teaches in the Stonecoast MFA program and directs the annual Frost Place Advanced Seminar.

David Yezzi is the author of the poetry collections The Hidden Model and Azores, and the executive editor of The New Criterion. A former director of the Unterberg Poetry Center, he has taught at Stanford University.

Joyce Johnson's memoir, Minor Characters, won a National Book Critics Circle Award. Her other books include Missing Men and the novel In the Night Café, and she is working on a biography of Jack Kerouac. She has taught at Columbia and the New School.

Rebecca Stowe is the author of three novels: Not the End of the World, The Shadow of Desire and One Good Thing.

Elisabeth Robinson’s first novel, The True & Outstanding Adventures of the Hunt Sisters, a New York Times best-seller, was translated into 12 languages. She has worked in the film business as a production executive, producer and screenwriter on such films as Braveheart, The Man Who Knew Too Little and Last Orders.

Myla Goldberg is the author of the novels Bee Season (a finalist for the Hemingway Foundation/PEN Award) and Wickett's Remedy. Her stories have appeared in McSweeney's and Harper's, and her reviews have appeared in The New York Times and Bookforum.

Nell Freudenberger is the author of a novel, The Dissident, and Lucky Girls, a collection of stories. She received a Guggenheim Fellowship in 2009-10 to complete a novel, The Newlyweds, forthcoming from Knopf.

Emily Fragos’s books of poetry include Little Savage and Hostage. She is the editor of three anthologies of poetry: The Great Cat, The Dance and Music’s Spell. She teaches poetry workshops at Columbia and NYU.

Glyn Maxwell's books of poems include The Breakage, The Boys at Twilight, Time's Fool, The Nerve, The Sugar Mile and Hide Now. A winner of the E.M. Forster Prize, he has taught at Amherst College and New York University.

Rosanna Warren's most recent book of poetry is Ghost in a Red Hat (2011). She has translated, with Stephen Scully, Euripides’ Suppliant Women (1995), and her book of literary criticism is Fables of the Self: Studies in Lyric Poetry (2008). Her awards include a Pushcart Prize, the Witter Bynner Prize from the American Academy of Arts and Letters and fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation and the American Council of Learned Societies. In 1980, she won the Poetry Center’s own “Discovery”/The Nation poetry contest. A professor at Boston University, Ms. Warren last appeared at the Poetry Center in March of 2011, for a reading with Bei Dao. She lives in Massachusetts.

Victor LaValle was born in New York City. His works of fiction are Slapboxing with Jesus (1999), for which he won the PEN/Open Book Award; The Ecstatic (2002); and Big Machine (2009), for which he won the American Book Award, the Shirley Jackson Award and the Ernest J. Gaines Award for Literary Excellence.

C. D. Wright's most recent books of poetry include Rising, Falling, Hovering (2008), for which she won the Griffin Poetry Prize; and One With Others (2010), which was nominated for both the National Book Award and National Book Critics Circle Award. Her collaborations with photographer Deborah Luster are Just Whistle: A Valentine (1993) and One Big Self: Prisoners of Louisiana (2003), for which she won the Dorothea Lange-Paul Taylor Prize. Among her many honors are the Witter Bynner Prize and a Whiting Writers’ Award, as well as fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Guggenheim Foundation and the MacArthur Foundation. From 1994 to 1999, she was Poet Laureate of Rhode Island. She teaches creative writing at Brown University and lives in Providence, Rhode Island.

Issue 10

More in this issue


Connect With Us

Join eNews

Contact Us

Follow Us



Poetry Center Online

On Demand Literary Recordings