The Knights and Edgar Meyer, bass, play Copland, Meyer, and more - 92Y, New York

Your Cart

The Knights and Edgar Meyer, bass, play Copland, Meyer, and more

The Knights and Edgar Meyer

Double bass virtuoso and composer Edgar Meyer earned a MacArthur “Genius” Award for his remarkable work fusing classical and bluegrass forms and styles into his own uniquely American music.

He joins The Knights for the New York premiere of his delight-filled, genre-busting third concerto. The concert opens with a performance of Jamaican-born British composer Eleanor Alberga’s ethereal and playful Shining Gates of Morpheus. Closing it and continuing the American character of Meyer’s work is a soaring masterpiece of American music, Copland’s Appalachian Spring — dream repertoire for The Knights’ vibrant and multifaceted artistry.

Eric Jacobsen, conductor
Edgar Meyer, bass
David Byrd-Marrow, French horn

  • Eleanor Alberga, Shining Gates of Morpheus
  • Edgar Meyer, Concerto No. 3 in E Major for Double Bass & Orchestra
  • Copland, Appalachian Spring

Concert available for viewing online for 72 hours from time of broadcast.

92Y needs your help. We are facing tremendous financial losses due to COVID-19. Your ticket purchase helps sustain our beloved institution and supports the creation of new, online programming that will bring comfort and inspiration to our community. Please consider donating today at Thank you.

This program is part of the following subscriptions:
Full Season (In-Person or Online)
Chamber Ensembles & Soloists II

Online programs:
An access link will be emailed to you after purchase

In-person programs:
Proof of COVID-19 Vaccination is Required for all adults and children ages 12+. Proof of vaccination for children ages 5+ is required for certain programs. Learn more.

Masks must be worn at all times by everyone over the age of 2.

Thank you for doing your part in helping to keep everyone in our community safe.

You might also like

Please note that all 92Y regularly scheduled in-person programs are suspended.