Stefan Jackiw, violin & Mahan Esfahani, harpsichord - 92Y, New York

Your Cart

Stefan Jackiw, violin & Mahan Esfahani, harpsichord

Stefan Jackiw and Mahan Esfahani

Two adventurous performers highlighted in the 2018-19 season return to 92Y to plumb the breadth and depth of the sonata repertoire for violin and harpsichord.

Stefan Jackiw makes his second consecutive appearance on the Soundspace series, joining Mahan Esfahani—last year, a soloist with the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra—for two works in the same key, by two different members of the Bach family. Interspersed are two angular entries into the 20th century harpsichord revival: a Sonata by Czech composer Viktor Kalabis—written for his wife, the noted harpsichordist Zuzana Růžičková—and a nimble Sonatina by Walter Piston.

  • Bach, Sonata for Violin and Keyboard No. 1 in B Minor, BWV 1014
  • Kalabis, Sonata for Violin and Harpsichord, Op. 28
  • C.P.E. Bach, Violin Sonata in B Minor, H. 512
  • Piston, Sonatina for Violin and Harpsichord

Please note that all 92Y regularly scheduled in-person programs are suspended.