Rafał Blechacz, piano - 92Y, New York

Your Cart

Rafał Blechacz, piano

Rafał Blechacz
This program is taking place remotely. If you have signed up, you will receive an email with details of how to access the program.

Polish phenom Rafał Blechacz returns to 92Y in an intriguing program which explores only two tonal areas: the keys of C minor and B minor.

Despite this proscription, we find a rich repertoire in these mysterious, alluring keys. Starting with the grave sensibility of Bach’s Partita, we move to Beethoven: an early sonata and a middle-period work, showing his own affinity for the key of C minor, and how his approach to it developed and deepened over time. In B minor, César Franck’s melancholy Prélude, Fugue, and Variation, originally written for organ as an homage to Bach, precedes one of Chopin’s all-time great essays for piano, his Third Sonata.

  • Bach, Partita No. 2 in C Minor, BWV 826
  • Beethoven, Sonata No. 5 in C Minor, Op. 10, No. 1
  • Beethoven, Variations on an Original Theme in C Minor, WoO 80
  • Franck, Prélude, Fugue and Variation in B Minor, Op. 18 (arr. Harold Bauer)
  • Chopin, Sonata No. 3 in B Minor, Op. 58