New York Polyphony, vocal quartet - 92Y, New York

Your Cart

New York Polyphony, vocal quartet

New York Polyphony is among today’s foremost vocal chamber ensembles, with a commitment to exploring the boundaries between ancient and modern music. The New York Times praised one of their two Grammy Award-nominated recordings as “a spacious, radiant treat.” Hear them live in an intimate, late-night “salon” setting in music from the 19th century forward, with works by Schubert, whose lovely part-songs could melt the heart, new music by contemporary British composer, Ivan Moody, whose vocal music was described by the Los Angeles Times as “like jeweled light flooding the space,” and more.

“Singers of superb musicianship and vocal allure.”

The New Yorker

New York Polyphony, vocal quartet

Concert running time is approximately one hour (no intermission). Doors open at 8:30 pm; each ticket includes a complimentary glass of wine.

  • Richard Rodney Bennett, A Colloquy with God
  • Lassus, La nuit froid et sombre
  • Schubert, Liebe
  • Brahms, Ich schwing mein horn
  • Saint-Saëns, Serenade d’hiver
  • Moody, Canticum Caticorum I (1990)
  • M. Haydn, Abendlied
  • Schubert, Grab und Mond
  • Gregory W. Brown, Abschied vom Leser
  • Nagel, Schone Nacht
  • Schubert, Die Nacht
  • Moody, Canticum Canticorum II (1994)
  • Finzi, Thou Didst Delight My Eyes
  • Barnby, Sweet and Low
  • Sullivan, The Long Day Closes

SOUNDSPACE in 92Y’s Buttenwieser Hall

Video & Audio