New York Philharmonic String Quartet & Daniil Trifonov, piano - 92Y, New York

Your Cart

New York Philharmonic String Quartet & Daniil Trifonov, piano

New York Philharmonic String Quartet

“A virtuoso pianist is a virtuoso composer, too,” writes The New York Times of Daniil Trifonov.

Both aspects of that virtuosity are showcased in the New York premiere of Trifonov’s Quintetto Concertante with the New York Philharmonic String Quartet. Elaborate, soloistic and sometimes gritty, the new quintet for piano and strings bears the distinct influence of Rachmaninoff and Shostakovich. Leading off the program is Mozart’s sunny yet chromatic String Quartet No. 14, the first of six quartets that Mozart wrote as an homage to Joseph Haydn. The Mozart is followed by another homage: Ravel’s only String Quartet, written in honor of Claude Debussy, in which a first movement of languorous beauty gives way to a modal scherzo, a breathtaking slow movement and a fast, rhythmic finale.

  • Mozart, String Quartet No. 14 in G Major, K. 387 “Spring”
  • Ravel, String Quartet in F Major
  • Daniil Trifonov, Quintetto Concertante (New York premiere)

Please note that all 92Y regularly scheduled in-person programs are suspended.