McGill/McHale Trio - 92Y, New York

Your Cart

McGill/McHale Trio

McGill/McHale Trio

This remarkable program from the McGill/McHale Trio, comprising Anthony McGill, clarinet; Demarre McGill, flute, and pianist Michael McHale, explores dances of all sorts: from the Hungarian Furiant and the American Charleston, to those associated with the pulsating rhythms of techno music.

Additionally, we hear Francis Poulenc’s masterful Flute Sonata and Clarinet Sonata, and the world premiere of For Anton Vishio, a 92Y-commissioned work written especially for this trio by MacArthur “Genius,” the “preternaturally talented” (The New York Times) composer Tyshawn Sorey, whose luminescent, genre-defying works have won praise from critics around the world.

  • Chris Rogerson, A Fish Will Rise
  • Poulenc, Sonata for Flute and Piano, FP 164
  • Tyshawn Sorey, For Anton Vishio (world premiere)
  • Dvořák, Slavonic Dance No. 8 (arr. Webster)
  • Guillaume Connesson, Techno-Parade
  • Debussy, Jardins sous la pluie, from Estampes
  • Poulenc, Sonata for Clarinet and Piano, FP 184
  • Paul Schoenfeld, Sonatina

Please note that all 92Y regularly scheduled in-person programs are suspended.