Eduardo Fernández, guitar & David Leisner, guitar - 92Y, New York

Your Cart

Eduardo Fernández, guitar & David Leisner, guitar

“Fernandez transcends his instrument so thoroughly that you remember him not simply as a great classical guitarist, but as a great musician who happens to play the guitar.” – Detroit Free Press

“Among the finest guitarists of all time.” – American Record Guide (about David Leisner)

Compositions by both performers are featured on this inventive and wide-ranging program, which also includes several of Villa-Lobos’ groundbreaking Études for Guitar — pieces which set the technical standard for 20th century guitar performance. Fernández and Leisner perform Nagoya Guitars, a complex piece based on constantly-shifting musical patterns by minimalist master Steve Reich; Eduardo Fernández presents his own transcription of Bach’s immortal Chaconne from the D Minor violin sonata; and join together in two selections by two guitarist-composers of an earlier age: Antoine de Lhoyer and Fernando Sor.

  • Lhoyer, Duo concertant in E Minor, Op. 31, No. 3
  • Bach, Chaconne, from Violin Partita No. 2 in D Minor, BWV 1004
  • Steve Reich, Nagoya Guitars
  • David Leisner, Mirage
  • Eduardo Fernández, Astor visits Heitor
  • Villa-Lobos, from 12 Études for Guitar, W. 235
    Étude No. 9 in F-sharp Minor
    Étude No. 10 in B Minor
    Étude No. 11 in E Minor
    Étude No. 12 in A Minor
  • Sor, Souvenir de Russie, Op. 63


Join us for a free pre-concert talk one hour before every performance with your ticket, led by Benjamin Verdery, Art of the Guitar artistic director and chair of the Guitar Department of the Yale School of Music.