Jonathan Biss, piano - 92Y, New York

Your Cart

Jonathan Biss, piano

Jonathan Biss

During these uncertain times, the health and wellbeing of our community is and always will be our top priority.

In an abundance of caution, this concert will no longer take place as advertised. But we are pleased to let you know that Jonathan Biss has graciously agreed to proceed with his recital without a live audience, as an exclusive livestream-only concert for all those who would like to hear him and those confined to home.

Watch the livestream

“One of his generation’s most serious musical thinkers” (The New York Times), Jonathan Biss brings his rich insight and commanding technique to Beethoven’s last three piano sonatas.

Written, as Beethoven said, “in a single breath,” these pieces represent the apotheosis of his piano writing, showing his mastery of the variation form (in Op. 109), his expertise in the forms of the musical past (the fugue, in Op. 110), and an ability to be cutting-edge (considering Op. 111 as a whole, but especially the famous ‘boogie woogie’ moments in the second movement).

  • Beethoven, Sonata No. 30 in E Major, Op. 109
  • Beethoven, Sonata No. 31 in A-flat Major, Op. 110
  • Beethoven, Sonata No. 32 in C Minor, Op. 111

Notes on the Program

by Jonathan Biss

Jonathan Biss

Jonathan Biss is a world-renowned pianist who channels his deep musical curiosity into performances and projects in the concert hall and beyond …

You might also like

Please note that all 92Y regularly scheduled in-person programs are suspended.