Garrick Ohlsson: Brahms Exploration III - 92Y, New York

Your Cart

Garrick Ohlsson: Brahms Exploration III

Garrick Ohlsson — Complete Brahms I

Garrick Ohlsson brings his “unfailing musicality, wealth of tone coloring and infallible technique” (The Baltimore Sun) to the third installment of the complete keyboard works of Johannes Brahms.

Beginning with the tempestuous Rhapsodies, Op. 79, we then move on to the more desolate Op. 116 Fantasies before delving into the fireworks of the second book of Brahms’ Variations on a Theme of Paganini. After intermission, Brahms’ colossal, five-movement Sonata in F Minor, a piece by turns beguiling and stormy, will serve as the perfect vehicle for Ohlsson’s plush tone and incomparable virtuosity.

  • Brahms, Rhapsodies, Op. 79
  • Brahms, Fantasies, Op. 116
  • Brahms, Variations on a theme of Paganini (Book II), Op. 35
  • Brahms, Sonata No. 3 in F Minor, Op. 5

You might also like

Sérgio Assad, Clarice Assad, and Third Coast Percussion

Inflection Series

Sérgio Assad, guitar; Clarice Assad, piano & vocals; & Third Coast Percussion

Archetypes (New York premiere)
The Bolton Memorial Concert

Sat, Mar 28, 2020