ECCO (East Coast Chamber Orchestra) & Shai Wosner, piano - 92Y, New York

Your Cart

ECCO (East Coast Chamber Orchestra) & Shai Wosner, piano

East Coast Chamber Orchestra and Shai Wosner
This program is taking place remotely. If you have signed up, you will receive an email with details of how to access the program.

The intrepid ECCO (East Coast Chamber Orchestra) makes its 92Y debut with a program ranging from a piece based on some of the oldest music in existence to the New York premiere of a work by Christopher Cerrone, a composer whose work the L.A. Times hailed as “rapturous…of special beauty.”

Gustav Mahler’s sumptuous orchestration of Beethoven’s String Quartet No. 11 in F Minor opens the program, followed by a selection of gorgeous miniatures by Clara Schumann. A rollicking arrangement of Geminiani’s famous Variations on La Follia rounds out the first half. Following intermission, the “superb pianist” (The Washington Post) Shai Wosner joins ECCO in a performance of Mozart’s harmonically adventurous Piano Concerto No. 14 in E-Flat Major before premiering a new work of Christopher Cerrone, based on the writings of Elena Ferrante.

  • Beethoven, String Quartet No. 11 in F Minor, Op. 95 “Serioso” (arr. Mahler)
  • C. Schumann, A Love Suite (arr. Michi Wiancko)
  • Geminiani, Variations on La Follia (arr. Michi Wiancko)
  • Christopher Cerrone, The Air Suspended (NY premiere)
  • Mozart, Piano Concerto No. 14 in E-flat Major, K. 449