Stefan Jackiw, violin & Conrad Tao, piano - 92Y, New York

Your Cart

Stefan Jackiw, violin & Conrad Tao, piano

Conrad Tao, piano & Stefan Jackiw, violin

“Conrad Tao’s playing was little short of a miracle … his accomplishments as an artist are far beyond anything one might expect at such an age.” — Calgary Herald

“(Jackiw) has all the requisite virtuosity and technical firepower one would expect from a young soloist … but he placed technique at the service of a notably refined sense of artistry.” — The Boston Globe

Dual phenoms Conrad Tao and Stefan Jackiw offer an exciting program of homages to old forms and departed friends by Stravinsky, Lutosławski, Saariaho and Copland. Selections include Stravinsky’s Suite Italienne — droll transformations of music by 18th century composer Pergolesi — and another paean to an earlier day: Lutosławki’s Partita. Though the title is that of a baroque suite, the harmonic language is modern; warm melodies give way to virtuosic abandon. Kaija Saariaho’s memorial of Lutosławki offers a rich palette of sounds, and the program ends with Copland’s violin sonata; like the Saariaho, an elegy for a departed friend.

  • Stravinsky, Suite Italienne
  • Lutosławski, Partita
  • Kaija Saariaho, Nocturne in memory of Lutoslawski
  • Copland, Sonata for Violin and Piano (1943)