Nicola Benedetti, violin & Alexei Grynyuk, piano - 92Y, New York

Your Cart

Nicola Benedetti, violin & Alexei Grynyuk, piano

Nicola Benedetti, violin & Alexei Grynyuk, piano

Few artists combine such formidable artistry with the pure joy of music making as Scottish violinist Nicola Benedetti. Join us as she takes on a towering masterpiece of the literature in the Chaconne from Bach’s D Minor Partita, before being joined by pianist Alexei Grynyuk in Prokofiev’s violin sonata, a beguiling work which shows Prokofiev’s affinity for jazz rhythms and harmonies. The program continues with the New York premiere of jazz legend Wynton Marsalis’s new piece for solo violin, a tour de force which shows off Ms. Benedetti’s verve and brilliant technique. Finally, Mr. Grynyuk again joins Ms. Benedetti for Richard Strauss’s violin sonata, a gently lyrical work that culminates in plenty of fireworks for both instruments.

“It was thrilling to hear and watch Nicola Benedetti in a truly risk-taking performance that lived so much in the body and fused the sinews of the violin and the nerve-system of the player.”

The Times, London
  • Bach, Chaconne, from Violin Partita No. 2 in D Minor, BWV 1004
  • Prokofiev, Violin Sonata No. 2 in D Major, Op. 94a
  • Wynton Marsalis, New Work for Solo Violin (New York premiere)
  • Strauss, Violin Sonata in E-flat Major, Op. 18

Please note that all 92Y regularly scheduled in-person programs are suspended.