Artemis String Quartet (92Y Debut) - 92Y, New York

Your Cart

Artemis String Quartet (92Y Debut)

Artemis String Quartet (92Y Debut)

The Berlin-based Artemis Quartet is widely hailed for their masterful artistry and riveting performances. They bring a marvelous trio of works to their 92Y concert, beginning with the original version of Barber’s Adagio for Strings — a piece of aching beauty rarely heard in its more intimate instrumentation. Benjamin Britten’s second quartet, written to commemorate the 250th anniversary of the death of Henry Purcell, is a surprisingly extroverted work. With its “Chacony” final movement, the work is a splendid homage to the composer Britten so highly regarded. The quartet closes their program with Schubert’s “Death and the Maiden” — the composer’s dark monument of the string quartet repertoire.

“Artemis electrifies … one of Europe’s fastest-rising young string quartets.”

Chicago Tribune
  • Barber, Molto adagio, from String Quartet No. 1 in B Minor, Op. 11
  • Britten, String Quartet No. 2 in C Major, Op. 36
  • Schubert, String Quartet No. 14 in D Minor, D. 810, “Death and the Maiden”