Angela Hewitt—Bach Odyssey XI - 92Y, New York

Your Cart

Angela Hewitt—Bach Odyssey XI

Angela Hewitt
This program is taking place remotely. If you have signed up, you will receive an email with details of how to access the program.

Angela Hewitt’s eleventh installment of Bach’s full set of works for keyboard explores contrasts of scale and style within the composer’s mammoth oeuvre.

Hewitt begins with a dive into Bach’s miniaturist inclinations, featuring the two-part inventions of the Four Duets, the ten-bar Fantasia and Fugue in A Minor, and the Eighteen Little Preludes. The second half juxtaposes Bach’s massive visions of two foreign lands: the Italian Concerto, which attempts to compress all of the interlocking elements of orchestral concerto form into two hands; and the gargantuan French Overture, a grand tour of the French keyboard style in eleven movements.

Read a New York Times article: Review: A Pianist Reveals Bach’s Inner Dancer.

Angela Hewitt, piano

  • Bach, Four Duets, BWV 802-805
  • Bach, Eighteen Little Preludes, BWV 924, 930, 925-928, 933-943, 999
  • Bach, Fantasia and Fugue in A Minor, BWV 944
  • Bach, French Overture in B Minor, BWV 831
  • Bach, Italian Concerto in F Major, BWV 971