Angela Hewitt—Bach Odyssey X - 92Y, New York

Your Cart

Angela Hewitt—Bach Odyssey X

Angela Hewitt

Angela Hewitt begins the final season of her multi-year Bach Odyssey with performances of the last three English Suites, following up on her performance of the first three in May.

Though it is not clear why they have come to be known as “English,” these earliest of Bach’s keyboard suites—firmly in the French style—show off the composer’s versatility and ability to dialogue with the dance idioms of several countries. Also on the program is the witty D Major Sonata, with a final movement, in fugue form, that imitates the morning call of a cuckoo bird.

Angela Hewitt, piano

  • Bach, English Suite No. 4 in F Major, BWV 809
  • Bach, English Suite No. 5 in E Minor, BWV 810
  • Bach, Sonata in D Major, BWV 963
  • Bach, English Suite No. 6 in D Minor, BWV 811

You might also like

Sérgio Assad, Clarice Assad, and Third Coast Percussion

Inflection Series

Sérgio Assad, guitar; Clarice Assad, piano & vocals; & Third Coast Percussion

Archetypes (New York premiere)
The Bolton Memorial Concert

Sat, Mar 28, 2020