Angela Hewitt — Bach Odyssey VIII: The Toccatas - 92Y, New York

Your Cart

Angela Hewitt — Bach Odyssey VIII: The Toccatas

Angela Hewitt — Bach Odyssey VIII

“The paramount quality of Angela Hewitt’s piano playing is the joy it communicates.” — The Daily Telegraph

“For those willing to imagine what Bach might have done had a concert grand been available to him, (Hewitt’s) brilliantly executed cadenzas and abundant and fleet florid passage work were breathtaking.” — Musical America

The Odyssey continues, with “the outstanding Bach pianist of her generation” (The Sunday Times, London) bringing her brilliant, exuberant artistry to Year 3 of her four-year journey.

Bach’s Toccatas are exceedingly imaginative: daring in harmonic construction and virtuosic in technical level, their improvisatory nature gives a feeling of youthful abandon. The Toccatas are paired with one of Bach’s first commercial successes, the Chromatic Fantasy and Fugue, also free and improvisatory in nature. The piece was shared widely in his lifetime in manuscript before eventually being published, and the wild modulations of the fantasy are unique in Bach’s output.

  • Bach, Toccata in C Minor, BWV 911
  • Bach, Toccata in G Major, BWV 916
  • Bach, Toccata in F-sharp Minor, BWV 910
  • Bach, Toccata in E Minor, BWV 914
  • Bach, Toccata in D Minor, BWV 913
  • Bach, Toccata in G Minor, BWV 915
  • Bach, Toccata in D Major, BWV 912
  • Bach, Chromatic Fantasy and Fugue in D Minor, BWV 903