Alexi Kenney, violin - 92Y, New York

Your Cart

Alexi Kenney, violin

Alexi Kenney

The daring violinist Alexi Kenney underlines the aesthetic connection between the calculated passion of the Baroque and the present-day cutting edge of solo violin composition and performance.

Kenney’s program interweaves crystalline movements of Bach’s Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin with an essential selection of contemporary solo repertoire that expands on the ingenious 18th century methods of simulating polyphony with a single violin. Purely acoustic works by Kurtág, Enescu and Saariaho join electroacoustic textures by Reich and Jónsdóttir to display the sheer variety of techniques used by 20th and 21st century composers to push the limits of solo performance.

  • Bach, Adagio, from Sonata No. 1 in G Minor, BWV 1001
  • György Kurtág, “Ruhelos” from Kafka Fragments
  • Bach, Grave from Violin Sonata No.2 in A Minor, BWV 1003
  • Enescu, “Ménétrier” from Impressions d’Enfance, Op. 28
  • Matteis, Alla Fantasia
  • Kaija Saariaho, Nocturne
  • Bach, Largo from Violin Sonata No.3 in C Major, BWV 1005
  • Bach, Allemande and Double from Violin Partita No.1 in B Minor, BWV 1002
  • Steve Reich, Violin Phase
  • Thurídur Jónsdóttir, INNI
  • Bach, Chaconne from Violin Partita No.2 in D Minor, BWV 1004