Your Cart

Mobile Dance Film Festival

Smartphones. Sensational Dance.

The Mobile Dance Film Festival is the first film festival to screen Dance Film shot solely on mobile devices.

If mobile devices free up more filmmakers in this way, the next mobile dance film festival could be something to see.”

The New York Times

The smartphone has enabled artists to escape dance’s time/space conundrum to unleash their creativity in surprising ways. The motto of the festival could be ‘have smartphone, will dance’ as artists break free from the four walls of the studio and theater.”

Dance Enthusiast

Support the Mobile Dance Film Festival

If you are able to contribute, 92Y greatly appreciates your support. Your generous gift will help sustain our beloved institution and especially the virtual programming that brings comfort and inspiration to our community when they need it most.

I would like to support the 92Y Mobile Dance Film Festival with a donation of:

Submission Requirements Overview

  • Films must be shot entirely on a mobile device: smartphones or tablets. Films shot with limited use (up to 40% of entire film) of drone and go-pro footage will also be accepted.
  • Films must be no shorter than 1 minute and no longer than 90 minutes.
    Trailers must be no longer than 1 minute.
  • Films must be submitted via downloadable links to Vimeo, Google Drive, WeTransfer or any comparable file sharing platform. YouTube or links to social media will not be accepted.
  • Films must be recorded and edited with no less than 720HD format. 1080HD or higher recommended.
  • Maximum of 3 submissions per filmmaker across all categories.
  • If submitting for Student Film Category, please submit through the proper link below with parent / legal guardian if under 18.
  • Submitting a film does not guarantee screening in the Festival.
  • Have read and agreed to all Official Rules and Terms and Conditions.

Key Dates

Application/Submission Opening
Fri, Jan 1, 2021

Application/Submission Closing
Mon, May 31, 2021

Acceptance Notification
Wed, Jun 30, 2021

Film Screenings
Sat, Jul 31, 2021

The 2021 Mobile Dance Film Festival Submission Period has ended. Thank you for your submissions and support of the Festival. Stay tuned for Official Selection and Screening announcements.

The Mobile Dance Film Festival receives major support from The Reed Adkins Fund of The Pittsburgh Foundation.


Contact Us

For more information, email or call us at 212.415.5555.

Connect on: