Jonathan Biss, piano - 92Y, New York

Your Cart

Jonathan Biss, piano

Mar 26, 2020

“One of his generation’s most serious musical thinkers” (The New York Times), Jonathan Biss brings his rich insight and commanding technique to Beethoven’s last three piano sonatas.

Written, as Beethoven said, “in a single breath,” these pieces represent the apotheosis of his piano writing, showing his mastery of the variation form (in Op. 109), his expertise in the forms of the musical past (the fugue, in Op. 110), and an ability to be cutting-edge (considering Op. 111 as a whole, but especially the famous ‘boogie woogie’ moments in the second movement).

Beethoven, Sonata No. 30 in E Major, Op. 109
Beethoven, Sonata No. 31 in A-flat Major, Op. 110
Beethoven, Sonata No. 32 in C Minor, Op. 111

Program Notes

Categories: Concerts

92Y needs your help

Many of you have asked how you can support 92Y as we continue to face financial challenges due to Covid-19. You can help sustain our beloved institution and support the creation of new programs, both online and in person, ensuring that everyone has the opportunity to access our programming, regardless of age, background or geographic location. Thank you for anything you can do to help.