For over 60 years 92Y’s Discovery Contest has launched the careers of major poets, like John Ashbery, Mark Strand, Lucille Clifton, Mary Jo Bang and Eduardo C. Corral, to name but a few.

Will you be next? Winners receive a reading at 92Y, publication in Boston Review and $500 each. Read selections by last year's winners.

Applications must be submitted by Monday, January 25, 2016 at 5 pm. To apply, read the guidelines and submit here.

This year’s preliminary judges are Timothy Donnelly and Solmaz Sharif. The final judges are Thylias Moss, Paul Muldoon and Ellen Bryant Voigt.

“This prize helped me to crush some of the stifling self-doubt that had long been an enemy to my poetry, like playing chess against myself. It made me think, If Cornelius Eady, a final judge, believes in my work enough to give me such a lovely, unforgettable gift of an introduction, then I better damn well start believing in myself too, because I don’t want to prove him wrong.”

– Ansel Elkins, 2011 winner and author of Blue Yodel, for which she received the Yale Younger Poets Prize.

Preliminary Judges

Timothy Donnelly is the poetry editor at Boston Review and author of The Cloud Corporation, for which he won the Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award.


Solmaz Sharif is the author of LOOK, forthcoming in 2016, and the winner of the 2011 Discovery/Boston Review Poetry Prize.


Final Judges

Thylias Moss is the author of Tokyo Butter and Small Congregations: New and Selected Poems. She is the recipient of a MacArthur Fellowship and a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts.


Paul Muldoon is the author of Moy Sand and Gravel, for which he won the Pulitzer Prize, and One Thousand Things Worth Knowing. He was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Letters in 2008. He is poetry editor at The New Yorker.


Ellen Bryant Voigt is the author of Headwaters, Kyrie and Shadow of Heaven. She is the winner of the 1976 Discovery/The Nation Poetry Prize and was elected a Chancellor of the Academy of American Poets in 2003.


This contest is endowed by Joan L. and Dr. Julius H. Jacobson, II.